top of page

UnBecoming in process

"UnBecoming" in process.

Photoperformance series.

part 1: After midnight

I am sitting at my desk, in front of a little mirror, before applying make-up to my face to remember how the process of (un)becoming starts.

I can see in detail my little, black, soft lip hairs, called usually moustache. I used to hate body hair and I tried, since an early age, to eliminate it...

..But hair kept growing, creating this visible, thin, black arch above my lips. And I kept trying different ways, almost every day to get rid of something that my body still is trying to grow, day by day!

Have you, also, heard these curious people,who enjoy telling you: "Well, you need to remove your moustache!It's not so feminine, you know!".

In the back of my head, I know that it's bullshit, because, in reality, what grows above my lips is nothing more than little, soft, visible, thin black hair. Hair combined with olive skin, big brown eyes, big "Greek style" nose and thick, black eyebrows, revealing my Mediterranean nature! But sometimes, I still feel insecure, trying to hide the last traces of an absurd shame.

Now, I look in the little mirror at my reflection, and I wonder:

"Why the fuck, I ever considered any part of my body, including thin, black, visible hair, as ugly?!!!"

"Why the fuck, was I convinced that in order to become a beautiful and desired woman, I had to repeat with patience these rituals of "deforestation"of my armpits, face, legs...my pussy?

"Why the fuck, was it embedded in me that a little black hair could "offend" my femininity?"

" Why the fuck, do I allow other people's hair-obsessions to have such power over me and my self-confidence?"

"Why the fuck, did I think, even for a moment, that (un)becoming what others desire to see me as, would have made me happy?"

What exactly do you want me to become? Your Cinderella? No problem, I'll become your Cinderella,

but I will meet you after midnight, when the spells break down and we can enjoy the dance.

Why would you even think we might want the same thing?

You ask: What do you want?

I want to like myself as I am! Looking in the mirror and feeling only gratitude for being exactly like I am and how I look...I want to go to the Ball with my lizards and mice, and let my sexy hairy legs do the dancing until dawn!

Fortunately, I am already on this pathway! A post-Cinderella who prefers pumpkins... Oh, yes, I (un)become...

Did I tell you?

It's fucking fantastic everytime I see my thick, black caterpillars, which I don't need anymore to "deforest"; They proudly remain there, above my big, beautiful, brown eyes!

And it's fucking wonderful everytime I stroke my soft armpit hair or I feel my partner's kisses there...

And I don't give a fuck if you think that I have to be ashamed....I laugh in your face!

My hair is part of my body. My body is the perfect temple in which I live; a temple in constant transformation, based on my own needs and desires. I am the only one to own it and have the right to do whatever I want with it.

Hairless, like a dolphin, or full of hair, like a bear, or half-bear, half-dolphin,

my femininity resides in the body I inhabit.

All images © 2016 Fenia Kotsopoulou

Commentaires


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page